Only the HTML output form seems to be working..

Post Reply
stef94
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 28. May 2012, 08:34

Only the HTML output form seems to be working..

Post by stef94 » Sun 3. Jun 2012, 17:34

Hi,
I'm using FanfictionDownloader for Mac, version 0.6.2, and I'm unable to save any stories from FanFiction.net (I tried a dozen at least) in another format than HTML. Saving to HTML works fine, and I can covert the output HTML to ePub using Calibre, but a straight conversion to ePub using FFD would be so much easier!
When I try ePub, PDF, RTF or any of the other formats, the progress bar runs to about 95% and then it stalls until I force quit FFD.
I used 0.6.0 before upgrading to 0.6.2, and it had the same issue.
I'm not sure if it's something I'm doing wrong, or some software I should've had installed that I haven't, but I'd love to be able to save straight to ePub.
I'm running the application as an admin, using WiFi to connect to the internet.
I hope you can figure this out and fix it!

Stef

User avatar
Raimond
Administrator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat 20. Nov 2010, 13:31
Contact:

Re: Only the HTML output form seems to be working..

Post by Raimond » Thu 7. Jun 2012, 17:55

Hi,

Number 5 needs more data :-)


There's a MAC manual on my homepage, in the download section.
Please read it carefully and install calibre. It sounds like you forgot this.
Here's the link: http://fanfictiondownloader.net/downloa ... r.php?id=7
Downloading will take some time, I think the file is around 15MB with all the pictures.

Rai

stef94
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 28. May 2012, 08:34

Re: Only the HTML output form seems to be working..

Post by stef94 » Thu 7. Jun 2012, 20:51

Ugh, I don't know how I missed the fact that there's a manual *facepalm* :oops:

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction anyway, despite being a classic case of RTFMD.
I've had calibre installed for ages, but the command line tools were not installed.
All fixed now :-)

I still have a problem with closing down the application, though. Do you want me to start a new topic for that?

User avatar
Raimond
Administrator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat 20. Nov 2010, 13:31
Contact:

Re: Only the HTML output form seems to be working..

Post by Raimond » Thu 7. Jun 2012, 22:17

Hi,

I prefere problems that are easy to solve :-) And maybe I should finally remove the outdated Install manual for windows....

No need to start a new topic, I think you are talking about the crash report if you close the program, right?

you aren't the only one with this problem. At the moment I can't recreate this problem on my computers, no clue why.

I reckon that an instance is destroyed too early when the destructors are called.

Thankfully it's only an annoying and not functional problem.

Rai

stef94
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon 28. May 2012, 08:34

Re: Only the HTML output form seems to be working..

Post by stef94 » Sat 9. Jun 2012, 22:42

It's the crash report, which is annoying, and also the fact that "Command-Q" doesn't work to shut down the app & is greyed out in the menu.
Let me know if you need a crash report, or a log of some sort. I'll gladly provide additional info.
I'm running OSX 10.6.8, btw.

Stef

User avatar
Raimond
Administrator
Posts: 292
Joined: Sat 20. Nov 2010, 13:31
Contact:

Re: Only the HTML output form seems to be working..

Post by Raimond » Sun 22. Jul 2012, 16:44

Hi,

Command+Q should be working with 0.6.7

The crash report is no help, I have to find it manually (Oh joy)

Rai

Post Reply